Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra – On Stage!

Sunday 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM Remind Me

Check out archived special performances by the Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra.  Curated by WFMT out of Chicago this weekly series is the absolute best of the MSO.

MSO – On Stage is brought to you by Sala, Modern Sicillian Dining located at 2613 E. Hampshire Street.  


2022 Schedule –

PROGRAM #:                       MSO 22-01

RELEASE:                            September 25, 2022


CONDUCTOR:                      Ken-David Masur

SOLOIST:                              Aaron Diehl, piano*


Eric Nathan:                            Opening

James B. Wilson:                    Green Fuse

George Gershwin:                   Rhapsody in Blue (Arr. Ferde Grofe)*

Duke Ellington:                       New World A-Comin’ (Arr. Henderson/Tyzik)*

Stravinsky:                              Suite from The Firebird



PROGRAM #:                       MSO 22-02

RELEASE:                            October 2, 2021


CONDUCTOR:                      Ken-David Masur

SOLOIST:                               Chee-Yun, violin*


Charbrier:                                Joyeuse Marche

Lalo:                                        Symphonie espagnole for Violin and Orchestra, Op. 21*

Ravel:                                      Rapsodie espagnole

Gabriela Lena Frank:              Three Latin-American Dances for Orchestra

De Falla:                                  Suite No. 2 from The Three-Cornered Hat (Three Dances)



PROGRAM #:                       MSO 22-03

RELEASE:                            October 9, 2022


CONDUCTOR:                      Andreas Delfs

SOLOIST:                               Olga Kern, piano*


Wagner:                                   “Siegfried’s Rhine Journey” from Götterdämmerung

Grieg:                                      Concerto in A minor for Piano and Orchestra, Op. 16*

Sarah Kirkland

Snider:                                     Something for the Dark


Humperdinck:                         Hansel and Gretel, Orchestral Suite


PROGRAM #:                       MSO 22-04

RELEASE:                            October 16, 2022


CONDUCTOR:                      William Eddins

SOLOIST:                              Karen Gomyo, violin*


Nino Rota:                              Concerto Per Archi

Respighi:                                 Le fontane di Roma [The Fountains of Rome]

Shostakovich:                          Concerto No. 1 in A minor for Violin and Orchestra, Op. 99*



PROGRAM #:                       MSO 22-05

RELEASE:                            October 23, 2022


CONDUCTOR:                      Ken-David Masur

SOLOIST:                               Augustin Hadelich, violin*



Perkinson:                               Generations: Sinfonietta No. 2 for String Orchestra

Korngold:                                Suite from Captain Blood

Britten:                                    Concerto No. 1 for Violin and Orchestra, Op. 15*

Shostakovich:                          Suite from The Golden Age, Op. 22

Hindemith:                              Mathis der Maler, Symphony



PROGRAM #:                       MSO 22-06

RELEASE:                            October 30, 2022


CONDUCTOR:                      Ken-David Masur

SOLOIST:                              Aaron Diehl, piano*


Ives:                                        Three Places in New England

Price:                                       Piano Concerto in One Movement*

Barber:                                                First Symphony (in One Movement), Op. 9

Gershwin:                                Second Rhapsody for Piano and Orchestra*


PROGRAM #:                       MSO 22-07

RELEASE:                            November 6, 2022


CONDUCTOR:                      Edo De Waart

SOLOIST:                              Susan Babini, cello*


Delius:                                     In a Summer Garden

Elgar:                                       Concerto in E Minor for Cello and Orchestra, Op. 85*

Beethoven:                              Symphony No. 6 in F major, Op. 68, “Pastoral”


PROGRAM #:                       MSO 22-08

RELEASE:                            November 13, 2022


CONDUCTOR:                      Ken-David Masur

SOLOIST:                              Jorge Federico Osorio, piano*


Mozart:                                    Concerto No. 23 in A major for Piano and Orchestra, K. 488*

Bruckner:                                Symphony No. 7 in E major (1883)



PROGRAM #:                       MSO 22-09

RELEASE:                            November 20, 2022


CONDUCTOR:                      Various (see below)

SOLOIST:                              Various (see below)



Perkinson:                               Sinfonietta No. 1 for Strings

Yaniv Dinur, conductor


Harris:                                     Symphony No. 3, in One Movement

Thomas Wilkins, conductor


Schulhoff:                               Jazz Concerto (Hot Sonata) for Alto Saxophone and Chamber Ensemble

Thomas Wilkins, conductor; Timothy McAllister, saxophone


Bolcom:                                   Concerto in D for Violin and Orchestra

Ken-David Masur, conductor; Ilana Setapen, violin


Hanson:                                   Symphony No. 2, Op. 30, “Romantic”

Thomas Wilkins, conductor   



PROGRAM #:                       MSO 22-10

RELEASE:                            November 27, 2022


CONDUCTOR:                      Ruth Reinhardt

SOLOIST:                              Alessio Bax, piano*


Wennakoski:                           Flounce

Dvořák:                                   Symphony No. 5 in F major, Op. 76 (old No. 3)

Brahms:                                   Concerto No. 2 in B-flat major for Piano and Orchestra, Op. 83*



PROGRAM #:                       MSO 22-11

RELEASE:                            December 4, 2022


CONDUCTOR:                      Ken-David Masur

SOLOISTS:                            John Brancy, baritone, Kelley O’Connor, mezzo-soprano; Milwaukee Symphony Chorus; Cheryl Frazes Hill, director*


Takemitsu:                               Requiem for Strings

Ken-David Masur, conductor


Canteloube:                             Chants d’Auvergne, 2nd series

Chants d’Auvergne, 3rd series

Chants d’Auvergne, 1st series*


Ibert:                                       Concertino da camera for Alto Saxophone and Orchestra

Thomas Wilkins, conductor; Timothy McAllister, saxophone


Mochizuki:                              Musubi II

                                                Ken-David Masur, conductor


Durufle:                                   Requiem, Op. 9

Ken-David Masur, conductor; John Brancy, baritone; Kelley O’Connor, mezzo-soprano



PROGRAM #:                       MSO 22-12

RELEASE:                            December 11, 2022


CONDUCTOR:                      Ken-David Masur

SOLOIST:                              Awadgin Pratt, piano*


Montgomery:                          Rounds for Piano and String Orchestra*

Mendelssohn:                          Overture to Die Heimkehr aus der Fremde, Op. 89 (Son & Stranger)

Schumann:                              Symphony No. 4 in D minor, Op. 120 (1841 version)



PROGRAM #:                       MSO 22-13

RELEASE:                            December 18, 2022


CONDUCTOR:                      Ken-David Masur

SOLOIST:                              Aizuri Quartet*

Felicia Moore, soprano; Deborah Nansteel, mezzo-soprano; Andrew Haji, tenor; Nathan Berg, bass-baritone; Milwaukee Symphony Chorus; Cheryl Frazes Hill, director**


Adams:                                    Absolute Jest for String Quartet and Orchestra*

Beethoven:                              Symphony No. 9 in D minor, Op. 125, “Choral”**